Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

List of Lawmakers In Support, Against the Lowering Age of Criminal Liability

LOWERING AGE OF CRIMINAL LIABILITY – Most of the members of the House panel supported the lowering of the age of criminal liability and only one(1) lawmaker is against it.

One of the serious topics that gather divided stands is about the reducing of the age of criminal liability in the Philippines. Currently, PH implements and observes the Republic Act No. 9344.

The said law otherwise known as the Juvenile Justice and Welfare Act of 2006 authored by Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, 15-year-old offenders shall be exempted from criminal liabilities.

Recently, the talk about the lowering of the age of criminal liability in the Philippines were ignited following the voting of the House Panel. Only one(1) lawmaker is against the proposal.

House of Representatives
Photo lifted from The Philippine Star

Based on a report on Rappler, other members of the House Panel are in favor of the lowering of the age of criminal liability in PH to 9 years old.

The approval of the proposal is with the help of former President and now House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

According to the report, it was Majority Leader Fredenil Castro who first moved to pass the substitute bill. Here is the list of the lawmakers who support or against the bill:


  • Agusan del Norte 1st District Rep. Lawrence Fortun


Justice Committee Members:

  • Oriental Mindoro 1st District Rep. Salvador Leachon
  • Camiguin Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
  • Iloilo City Rep. Jerry Treñas
  • Antipolo City 2nd District Romeo Acop
  • Malabon City Rep. Federico Sandoval

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Pampanga 2nd District Rep. Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo
  • Camarines Sur 1st District Rep. Rolando Andaya Jr.
  • Palawan 2nd District Rep. Frederick Abueg
  • Capiz 2nd District Rep. Fredenil Castro
  • Sorsogon 1st District Rep. Evelina Escudero
  • Davao City 2nd District Rep. Mylene Garcia Albano
  • AAMBIS-OWA Rep. Sharon Garin
  • South Cotabato 2nd District Rep. Ferdinand Hernandez
  • Bulacan 4th District Rep. Linabelle Ruth Villarica
  • Iloilo 3rd District Rep. Arthur Defensor
  • Mandaluyong City Rep. Alexandria Gonzales
  • Zamboanga Sibugay 2nd District Rep. Ann Hofer
  • Abono Rep. Vini Ortega
  • Zamboanga Sibugay 1st District Rep. Wilter Wee Palma
  • Aangat Tayo Rep. Harlin Neil Abayon
  • Makati City 2nd District Rep. Luis Campos Jr.
  • Abang Lingkod Rep. Joseph Stephen Paduano
  • Agri Rep. Orestes Salon
  • Leyte 1st District Rep. Yedda Romualdez
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "LOWERING AGE OF CRIMINAL LIABILITY: List Of Lawmakers In Support, Against It". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.