#WalangPasok: Class Cancellations for Monday (December 4, 2023)

Class Cancellations for Monday (December 4, 2023) Due to Davao Quake

WALANG PASOK – Several local government units declared class cancellations due to a magnitude 7.4 earthquake in Davao.

On Saturday (December 2, 2023), a magnitude 7.4 earthquake hit the coast of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur. The powerful tremor was felt in various parts of the Davao region, and numerous aftershocks are expected.

On Sunday (December 3, 2023), Davao City Acting Mayor Melchor Quitain Jr. declared the suspension of classes at all levels in all public schools to ensure the safety of both students and teachers. The government also encourages private schools to follow suit.

Class Cancellations

Quitain also ordered work-from-home (WFH) arrangements for all national and local government offices in the city. However, offices involved in safety, security, health, social services, and disaster and emergency response services were exempt from the WFH arrangement.

Private offices and establishments were urged to adopt WFH measures to prioritize the safety and convenience of their employees following the earthquake and its potential aftershocks.

State seismologists issued a tsunami warning. Boat owners in harbors and shallow coastal areas were advised to secure their vessels and move away from the waterfront to ensure their safety.

Class Cancellations

Here is the list of areas covered by class cancellations:

Davao de Oro

  • Compostela
  • Laak
  • Maco
  • Main
  • Maragusan
  • Mawab
  • Monkayo
  • Montevista
  • Nabunturan
  • New Bataan
  • Pantukan (All levels, public and private)

Davao Oriental

  • Mati City (basic education level in public schools only)
  • Banaybanay (basic education level only)
  • Baganga (all levels)
  • Boston (all levels)
  • Caraga (all levels)
  • Cateel (all levels)
  • Governor Generoso (basic education level in public schools only)
  • Lupon (basic education level only)
  • Manay (all levels)
  • San Isidro (all levels)
  • Tarragona (all levels)

Davao City – All public schools only

Davao Occidental – Province-wide, all levels

Davao del Norte

  • Tagum City (all levels)
  • Island Garden City of Samal (all levels)
  • Panabo City (all levels)
  • Asuncion (all levels)
  • Braulio E. Dujali (all levels)
  • Carmen (all levels)
  • Kapalong (all levels)
  • New Corella (all levels)
  • Santo Tomas (all levels)
  • San Isidro (all levels)
  • Talaingod (all levels)

Davao del Sur

  • Hagonoy (basic education level in public schools only)
  • Kiblawan (all levels)
  • Padada (all levels)

This is a developing report, just visit this website for further updates and information.

RELATED ARTICLE: EARTHQUAKE: 4.9 Magnitude Quake Hit Camarines Sur

Leave a Comment