Philippines Temporarily Bans Travelers from 9 Countries

Update on the Philippines Existing Travel Ban

PHILIPPINES – The PH national government announced a temporary ban on travelers from nine (9) countries until September 18, 2021.

The world continues to battle against COVID-19. The emergence of new variants of the virus urged countries to put up a stronger fight to prevent the increase of cases. Unfortunately, several nations faced another spike in their cases and one of the factors considered is the Delta variant.

Currently the variant of concern, the Delta variant was first recorded in India. It hooked attention because of its higher transmissibility rate. One of the countries that logged cases of this variant is the Philippines.

In PH, the cases started with returning overseas Filipinos (ROFs). Local transmissions were already recorded in the country. To prevent the spread of the variant, the national government previously returned the implementation of stricter community quarantine measures in the capital region. Metro Manila was under ECQ for two (2) weeks.

Philippines Travel Ban
Photo: The Star

The whole PH remains under community quarantine measures now. Metro Manila is currently under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ). After September 15, it is set to be under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) alongside the implementation of granular lockdown and the alert level system.

Aside from the community quarantine measures, the country is also observing travel restrictions now. Based on a report on ABS-CBN News, the travelers from the following countries will not be allowed entry from September 12, 2021 (12:00 noon) until Sept. 18, 2021 (11:59 p.m.):

  • Azerbaijan
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Saint Lucia
  • Switzerland

Reportedly, the travel ban includes passengers who have been in the aforementioned countries within 14 days preceding arrival in the Philippines. Meanwhile, those Filipinos who are part of the repatriation efforts, both under the government and non-government efforts, are exempted from the travel restrictions.

Thank you for visiting You may express your thoughts and reactions below through the comment section. You may also follow us on Facebook, on Twitter, and subscribe to our YouTube channel Philnews Ph.

READ ALSO: Davao Oriental Government Makes Changes On Quarantine Measure

Leave a Comment