Jovit Baldivino and Juris Fernandez Awarded as Male and Female Artist of the Year by Tambayan OPM Awards

Jovit Baldivino  & Juris Fernandez
Jovit Baldivino and Juris Fernandez awarded "Best Artist of the Year"

Jovit Baldivino and Juris Fernandez were recognized as the lead winners during the “Tambayan OPM Awards” on Saturday, May 28 that took place at SM North Edsa Skydome.

Most of the popular artists covering the music industry gathered altogether for an evening recognition so as to give honor to those musicians who have been continuously promoting “Pinoy Music” which in turn spread throughout the Philippines.

The “Pilipinas Got Talent grand winner known to be Jovit Baldivino, blew other famous male artist such as Piolo Pascual as well as Bugoy Drilon when everyone heard the announcement which officially declared him to become the “Male Artist of the Year”. Along with such prestigious award, Baldivino was also honored being the “Best New Artist”.

On the other hand, Juris Fernandez also grabbed an award for female category on that significant event. A proclamation was made recognizing Fernandez as the “Female Artist of the Year”. Juris, identified to be the MYMP band vocalist, knocked KC Concepcion, Yeng Constantino, and Toni Gonzaga.

The popular band of Siakol had likewise gained a good reputation in their comeback album entitled “Tropa” which also came to receive the Best Album of the Year award.

Furthermore, the “Tambayani of the Year Award” was likewise been given as a credit to the international singing sensation known as Charice Pempengco. This is due to the fact that the young singer, Charice, continuously do great efforts in order to establish the local music industry.

Previously, the “Tambayani of the Year Award” was given to the late Pinoy rapper, Francis Magalona.

Meanwhile, the “Tambayani OPM Awards” went to the singer-actor Jericho Rosales in the “Best Live Performance” category for his movie series “Green Rose” that had ended recently.

Christian Bautista on the other hand had been recognized as well. Bautista’s “Beautiful Girl” accepted the “Best OPM Revival”. In addition to that, the “WOW Videoke” got an award being the “Kantamercial of the Year”.

All of the nominees were judged according to the set of criteria. The standards had been established as follows:  10% for Commercial Appeal, Musicality and Originality/Creativity, another 30% for Listeners’ text votes and gathering the highest percentage came from the Judges from the local music industry. The selection was under the direction of the TOPMA Awards Committee.

The awardees were present to personally accept each of their awards except for Charice Pempengco who is outside country at present.

The “Tambayan OPM Awards” is a project of Kapamilya FM Radio station known as “Tambayan 101.9”. The said awarding ceremony had been hosted by Francine Prieto together with Jayson Gainza who is popularly known to portray the character of “Tito Bhoy”.

Leave a Comment