PAGASA – Typhoon Quinta Maintain Strength, Expected To Leave PAR

PAGASA – Typhoon Quinta Maintain Strength, Expected To Leave PAR

PAGASA – Weather bureau PAGASA recently said that Typhoon Quinta maintains its strength as it exits the Philippine Area of Responsibility.

Image from: ABS-CBN News

The bureau said that Quinta’s strong winds and heavy rains shut down power lines and overwhelmed parts of Luzon, urging the suspension of classes and urging tens of thousands to evacuate from their homes.

The typhoon was last spotted at about 125 kilometers north of Coron, Palawan as of 10 AM. It is moving 25 kilometers per hour. It is packed with maximum winds of 125 kilometers per hour 150 kilometers per hour, according to a report from ABS-CBN News.

It is expected to re-intensify and may reach its peak intensity within the next 24 to 48 hours. It is expected to leave the Philippine Area of Responsibility on Tuesday morning.

The weather disturbance will bring moderate to heavy with at times intense rains over Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Marinduque, northern Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands, Calabarzon, Aurora, Isabela, Quirino, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet, Aklan, Capiz, and Antique, based on the report.

Cagayan, Isabela, Apayao, Kalinga, Abra, Ilocos Norte, and Ilocos Sur will face moderate to heavy rainsdue to a tail-end of a frontal system.

The said system will also bring light to moderate with at times heavy rains over Metro Manila, Zamboanga Peninsula, Bangsamoro, Northern Mindanao, Caraga, and the rest of Luzon and Visayas.

TCWSs are currently hoisted over the following areas:

  • TCWS No. 3
    • northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro
      • Abra de Ilog
      • Mamburao
      • Paluan
      • including Lubang Island
  • TCWS No. 2
    • Oriental Mindoro
    • rest of Occidental Mindoro
    • Calamian Islands
    • Batangas
    • extreme northern portion of Antique
      • Caluya
  • TCWS No. 1
    • Metro Manila
    • southern portion of Zambales (San Antonio, Castillejos, Subic, Olongapo City)
    • Bataan
    • southwestern portion of Pampanga
      • Floridablanca
      • Lubao
      • Sasmuan
      • Masantol
    • southwestern portion of Bulacan
      • Hagonoy
      • Paombong
      • Malolos City
      • Bulacan
      • Obando
      • Meycauayan City
    • Rizal
    • Cavite
    • Laguna
    • Quezon
      • including Polillo Islands
    • Marinduque
    • Romblon
    • northern portion of Palawan
      • El Nido
      • Taytay
      • including Cuyo Islands
    • Aklan
    • rest of the northern portion of Antique
      • Laua-An
      • Barbaza
      • Tibiao
      • Culasi
      • Sebaste
      • Pandan
      • Libertad

What do you think of this report? How will you react to this? Let us know more about it in the comments below.

Check out our latest news at or in our following social media pages
Facebook: /PhilNews
Twitter: @PhilNews247
Instagram: @philnewsph

Leave a Comment