Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

List Of 12 Senators Who Voted For Mindanao Martial Law Extension

MINDANAO MARTIAL LAW – 12 Philippine Senators voted for the extension of the Martial Law declaration in Mindanao.

It was in 2017 after the Marawi war when President Rodrigo Roa Duterte declared martial law in Mindanao. It’s for the safety of the people considering the incident that took many lives, properties, and livelihood.

The declaration of Pres. Duterte was extended twice. Supposedly, it would expire on December 31, 2018 but it will be extended following the votation of the Senators. Prior to the voting, the President has expressed a request for its extension.

Rodrigo Duterte

Courtesy of Aaron Favila/AP | Photo lifted from Inquirer

With 12-5-1 voting, the Mindanao Martial Law is extended siding the request of Pres. Rodrigo Roa Duterte. It was just recently news reports about its extension crossed the surface.

12 Senators voted for the extension of martial law in Mindanao, five(5) lawmakers are not in favor of it, and one(1) senator abstained from voting.

Philippine Senators

@helenstito IG | @sengracepoe IG | @mannypacquiao
IG | @migzzubiri

Based on recent social media post of CNN on its Twitter page, the following are the list of senators who voted for the third extension of the martial law declaration in Mindanao:

1. Sen. Sonny Angara
2. Sen. Cynthia Villar
3. Sen. JV Ejercito
4. Sen. Ping Lacson
5. Sen. Gringo Honasan
6. Sen. Manny Pacquiao
7. Sen. Vicente Sotto III
8. Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri
9. Sen. Grace Poe
10. Sen. Richard Gordon
11. Sen. Koko Pimentel
12. Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian

Five (5) said no to the extension of martial law and they are Sen. Franklin Drilon, Sen. Francis Pangilinan, Sen. Bam Aquino, Sen. Chiz Escudero, and Sen. Risa Hontiveros.

The only senator who abstained from voting is Sen. Ralph Recto according to CNN.

Aside from the extension of martial law, the suspension of the writ of habeas corpus will also continue. Its extension is up until 2019.

What can you say about it? Feel free to express your thoughts or reactions through comments below.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "MINDANAO MARTIAL LAW: List Of 12 Senators Who Voted For Its Extension". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 2 comments… add one }
  • Nimfa D Cuartel December 12, 2018, 6:35 pm

    We don’t wait for another siege to declare ML. The ML style now is very different from the Marcos ML style.

  • Fermin Catalan December 12, 2018, 6:59 pm

    I salute the 12 True Honorable Senators for they know what is best for our fellow countrymen in Mindanao. Mabuhay kayo!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.