JUST IN: 5.9 Magnitude Earthquake Jolts Davao de Oro

Phivolcs Releases Bulletin about the Earthquake in Davao De Oro, March 7, 2023

EARTHQUAKE DAVAO DE ORO – The Phivolcs recorded a 5.9 magnitude quake in Davao de Oro, Tuesday, March 7, 2023.

Following the 7.3 magnitude earthquake that jolted a part of Davao Occidental a few weeks ago, another strong quake was recorded by the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs). The quake hit a part of Davao de Oro. According to the agency, it had a magnitude of 5.9.

The earthquake that struck Davao de Oro today, Tuesday, March 7, 2023, was tectonic in origin. It specifically hit New Bataan.

Earthquake Davao de Oro

According to Phivolcs, the earthquake that hit a part of Davao de Oro was located at 07.50°North, 126.20°East – 008 km South 52° East of New Bataan with a depth of focus of 010 kilometers.

Phivolcs stated in its bulletin that damages are not expected from the said quake as well as aftershocks. The following intensities and instrumental intensities were recorded:


  • Intensity I
    • Aleosan, Cotabato
    • Esperanza, Lutayan, and President Quirino, Sultan Kudarat
  • Intensity II
    • City of Cagayan De Oro
    • Antipas, Carmen, and City of Kidapawan, Cotabato
    • Columbio, Sultan Kudarat
  • Intensity III
    • Santa Cruz, Davao del Sur
    • City of Davao
    • City of Mati, Davao Oriental
  • Intensity IV
    • Monkayo, Davao de Oro
    • City of Tagum, Davao del Norte
    • City of Bislig, Surigao del Sur
  • Intensity V
    • Maco, Davao de Oro
    • Maragusan, Davao de Oro
    • Nabunturan, Davao de Oro
    • New Bataan, Davao de Oro
    • Pantukan, Davao de Oro

Instrumental Intensities:

  • Intensity I
    • Esperanza, Masbate
    • City of Baybay, and Dulag, Leyte
    • Kadingilan, Bukidnon
    • City of Cagayan De Oro
    • Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental
    • Kiamba, Sarangani
    • Banga, Norala, Surallah, and Tantangan, South Cotabato
    • City of General Santos
    • Columbio, Isulan, and President Quirino, Sultan Kudarat
    • City of Surigao, Surigao del Norte
    • City of Tandag, Surigao del Sur
    • Kapatagan, Lanao del Sur
  • Intensity II
    • Carmen, Bohol
    • Abuyog, Leyte
    • City of Malaybalay, and Talakag, Bukidnon
    • Banisilan, and Magpet, Cotabato
    • Alabel, Sarangani
    • City of Koronadal, South Cotabato
    • City of Cabadbaran, Agusan del Norte
    • City of Bislig, Surigao del Sur
  • Intensity III
    • Davao City
    • Malungon, Sarangani
    • Tupi, South Cotabato
  • Intensity V
    • Nabunturan, Davao de Oro

Thank you for visiting Philnews.ph. You may express your thoughts and reactions below through the comment section. You may also follow us on Facebook, on Twitter, and subscribe to our YouTube channel Philnews Ph.

READ ALSO: EARTHQUAKE SAFETY TIPS: Do’s and Don’ts During An Earthquake

Leave a Comment