Stages In Mitosis – How Many Stages Are There In Mitosis?

What are the different stages in mitosis? Learn about them below!

STAGES IN MITOSIS – These are different stages in mitosis and an explanation of each stage and the definition of mitosis.

Mitosis is “a process where a single cell divides into two identical daughter cells” or cell division. What happens during this process is the division of one cell that occurs once in order to form two identical cells.

Stages In Mitosis

The purpose of this is to grow new ones in order to replace the worn-out cells. Mistakes can also happen during the process; if not corrected in time, this mistake may change the DNA and eventually result in genetic disorders.

It is divided into five (5) phases which means it has five (5) stages.

These stages are below:

1. Interphase

The DNA prepares for cell division resulting in two identical full sets of chromosomes, Centrioles are critical parts of the process. A nucleus has two centrosomes outside it and each of these centrosomes has a pair of centrioles.

2. Prophase

The chromosomes stick together forming an “X” shape which is visible under the microscope and each of them is made up of two sister chromatids that have identical genetic details

3. Metaphase

The cell’s chromosomes line up at the equator of the spindle, ready to divide.

4. Anaphase

The sister chromatids become separated and are pulled apart. One goes to one pole and the other one goes to the opposite pole.

5. Telophase

This is the stage where mitosis ends or where the chromosomes already reach the poles. 

Photo credits to Shutter Stock


What can you say about this? Let us know!

For more news and updates, follow us on Twitter:@philnews_ph Facebook:@PhilNews, and YouTube channel Philnews Ph.

Leave a Comment