ABS-CBN Shutdown – The 70 Lawmakers Who Rejected Franchise Renewal

Two years after the ABS-CBN shutdown, people online recalled the lawmakers behind the closure of the media giant.

ABS-CBN SHUTDOWN – People online call to vote out the 70 people behind the shutdown of the ABS-CBN network.

May 5, 2020, was the date when the ABs-CBN network was ordered to stop airing its programs, and a couple of months after that, the media giant officially closed down. ABS-CBN network officially shut down on July 10, 2020, and 70 lawmakers rejected the franchise renewal bid of the network.

abs-cbn shutdown
Photo lifted from CNN

The rejection came after 13 comprehensive and exhaustive congressional hearings that proved ABS-CBN did not have any violation, most especially to their taxes. BIR official has actually cleared the network revealing that it paid regularly.

And now, with the election only a few days away from now, people online are making calls to vote out the 70 members of the House of Representatives. They are the ones who denied the network a new franchise despite the lack of any violation of the law.

These are the 70 lawmakers who rejected ABS-CBN’s franchise renewal bid:

  1. Raneo Abu
  2. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
  3. Gil Acosta
  4. Antonio Albano
  5. Samantha Louise Alfonso
  6. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
  7. Cristal Bagatsing
  8. Julienne Baronda
  9. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
  10. Claudine Bautista
  11. Juan Pablo Bondoc
  12. Antonio Calixto
  13. Prescious Castelo
  14. Joaquin Chipeco Jr.
  15. Ma. Theresa Collantes
  16. Anthony Peter Crisologo
  17. Francisco Datol
  18. Mike Defensor
  19. Paulo Duterte
  20. Faustino Michael Dy
  21. Faustino V. Dy
  22. Ian Paul Dy
  23. Conrado Estrella III
  24. Ria Christina Fariñas
  25. Dan Fernandez
  26. Bayani Fernando
  27. Luis Ferrer IV
  28. Pablo John Garcia
  29. Janette Garin
  30. Sharon Garin
  31. Weslie Gatchalian
  32. Sandro Gonzales
  33. Eduardo Gullas
  34. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
  35. Dulce Ann Hofer
  36. Eleandro Jesus Madrona
  37. Dale Malapitan
  38. Esmael Mangudadatu
  39. Rodante Marcoleta
  40. Eric Martinez
  41. Francisco Matugas
  42. Raymond Mendoza
  43. Roger Mercado
  44. John Marvin Nieto
  45. Jose Fidel Nograles
  46. Jericho Nograles
  47. Henry Oaminal
  48. Joseph Stephen Paduano
  49. Wilter Palma II
  50. Enrico Pineda
  51. Jesus Crispin Remulla
  52. Strike Revilla
  53. Yedda Romualdez
  54. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
  55. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
  56. Deogracias Savellano
  57. Frederick Siao
  58. Jose Singson Jr.
  59. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado
  60. Alyssa Sheena Tan
  61. Sharee Ann Tan,
  62. Arnolfo Teves Jr.
  63. Abraham Tolentino
  64. Allan Ty
  65. Christian Unabia
  66. Rolando Valeriano
  67. Luis Villafuerte Jr.
  68. Camille Villar
  69. Eric Yap
  70. Divina Grace Yu


What can you say about this? Let us know!

For more news and updates, follow us on Twitter:@philnews_ph Facebook: @PhilNews and; YouTube channel Philnews Ph.