Malacañang Says Metro Manila, CAR & 6 Areas to be Under GCQ Next Month

Metro Manila, CAR & 6 Areas to be Placed Under General Community Quarantine in February, Malacañang Says

Malacañang Palace announced that the Metro Manila, Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), and other areas will be under GCQ next month.

On Friday (January 29, 2021), presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced that Metro Manila, Cordillera Administrative Region and areas including Batangas, Tacloban City, Davao City, Davao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Iligan City will be under general community quarantine in February 2021.

Meanwhile, the remaining areas in the Philippines will be placed under modified general community quarantine except from Passi City in Iloilo province, which will be placed under an enhanced community quarantine.

Metro Manila

Passi City will be placed under ECQ due to the 166 new cases of coronavirus disease in the area. Most infected individuals were market vendors and their close contacts. The new measure will last until February 11, 2021.

President Rodrigo Duterte approved that community quarantine classifications, according to Roque. He also said that the government COVID-19 task force are observing the critical care capacity to determine the classification of quarantine.

The Department of Health recorded 12 out of 17 UK variant cases in Bontoc, Mountain Province.

Metro Manila

What can you say about this announcement? Just feel free to leave your comments and reactions to this article.

Read Also: Davao Passenger Who Faked Swab Results, Test Positive for COVID-19

Leave a Comment