Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

10 New Volcanic Quakes Recorded by Phivolcs on Mayon Volcano

The state seismology agency Phivolcs recorded at least 10 new volcanic quakes on Mayon Volcano during 24-hour observation period.

On Thursday (January 21, 2021), the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) recorded 10 new volcanic earthquakes in Mount Mayon as it remains under Alert Level 1.

Phivolcs made the announcement on their 8 am bulletin. The volcanic earthquakes have been recorded during a 24-hour observation period. However, around 34 volcanic quakes have been recorded since January 21, 2021.

New Volcanic Quakes

Mount Mayon reportedly emits sulfur dioxide at an average of 676 tonnes per day on December 29, 2020. Mayon remains under abnormal condition and residents are still prohibited from entering the 6-kilometer radius Permanent Danger Zone.

Mayon Volcano Observatory Station senior science research specialist Dr. Paul Karson Alanis explained that the quakes were triggered by the frequent rainfall in the province of Albay since the beginning of 2021.

Read Also: Mayon, Taal, Kanlaon, & Bulusan Volcano Show Irregularities at Same Day

Mayon Volcano is among the most active volcanoes in the Philippines, which sits along the towns of Camalig, Daraga, Guinobatan, Ligao, Malilipot, and Santo Domingo as well as cities of Legazpi and Tabaco.

New Volcanic Quakes

What can you say about this volcano update? Just feel free to leave your comments and reactions to this article.

Read Also: Phivolcs Records 4 Quakes on Mayon Volcano Within 24 Hours

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Phivolcs Records 10 New Volcanic Quakes on Mayon Volcano". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.