What Are The Main Branches Of Ethics? (ANSWERS)

What Are The Main Branches Of Ethics? (ANSWERS)

MAIN BRANCHES OF ETHICS – In this topic, we are going to know and identify the main branches of ethics and the meaning of each.


Also known as moral philosophy, it is a philosophical branch which involves systematizing, defending, and recommending concepts of right and wrong behavior.

It concerns with matters of value and comprises the branch of philosophy called axiology.


According to GK to Day, it has four main branches:

  • Descriptive Ethics
    • This branch deals with what peopla actually believe or what made to believe to be right or wrong and holds up the human actions acceptable or unacceptable or punishable under a custom or law.
  • Normative Ethics
    • This deals with “norms” or set of considerations on how one should act. It is known as a study of “ethical action” and sets out the rightness or wrongness of the actions. It is also known as prescriptive ethics.
  • Meta Ethics
    • Also known as analytical ethics, this deals with the origin of the ethical concepts themselves. This does not consider whether an action is good or bad.
  • Applied Ethics
    • This deals with the philosophical examination, of particular issues in private and public life which are matters of moral judgment.

READ ALSO: What Is The Earth Mantle – About The Layer Of Earth

Leave a Comment