Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Provinces Of Cagayan Valley | Regions Of The Philippines

PROVINCES OF CAGAYAN VALLEY – In this topic, we will now discuss the provinces of Cagayan Valley (Region II).


Also known as Tanap ti Cagayan in Ilocano, Tana’ na Cagayan in Ibanag, Tanap yo Cagayan in Itawit, or Lambak ng Cagayan, in Tagalog, it is the northeastern region in Luzon, one of the main island groups in the Philippines.

This region lies in a huge valley. This also was assigned as Region II and is surrounded by the following areas:

  • Cordillera Mountain Range
  • Sierra Mountain Range

It has a population of about 3.4 million people, as of 2015. Its regional center is Tugegarao City in the Cagayan Province.


Here are the following provinces:

  • Batanes (Capital: Basco)
    • Known locally as Provinsiya nu Batanes, it is the smallest and most northern island province in the country.
  • Cagayan (Capital: Tuguegarao)
    • This province is home to the regional capital and includes the Babuyan Group of Islands. It is one of the early provinces that existed during the Spanish Colonial Period.
  • Isabela (Capital: Ilagan)
    • Due to its vast plains and rolling terrain, it is known as the Rice Bowl of the North and the Corn Capital of the Philippines. This province also has the nickname the Queen Province of the Philippines and the centre of agriculture.
  • Nueva Vizcaya (Capital: Bayombong)
    • Also known originally as Baro nga Biscaya, and is named after the province of Biscay in Spain.
  • Quirino (Capital: Cabarroguis)
    • This province is named after Elpidio Quirino, the sixth president of the Philippines and was given the nickname the Forest Heartland of Cagayan Valley.

READ ALSO – Provinces Of Cordillera Administrative Region | Regions Of The Philippines

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Provinces Of Cagayan Valley | Regions Of The Philippines". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.