What Are Lumads? Things To Know About This Indigenous Group

What Are Lumads? Things To Know About This Ethnic Group

LUMADS – In this topic, we are going to know and discuss about a group of indigenous people called the Lumads.


As mentioned above, according to ricardoalcansado10 in Brainly, it is a group of Austronesian indigenous people situated in the southern Philippines. It is a Cebuano word that means native or indigenous.

Lumad is short for the term Katawang Lumad which translates to “indigenous people”. The term was officialy used by the delegates of the LMPF or the Lumad Mindanao Peoples Federation on June 26, 1986. It is the self-ascription and identity of the said indigenous people of Mindanao.

There are 17 groups of Lumad in the Philippines. The following are:

  1. Atta
  2. Bagobo
  3. Banwaon
  4. B’laan
  5. Bukidnon
  6. Dibabawon
  7. Higaonon
  8. Mamanwa
  9. Mandaya
  10. Manguwangan
  11. Manobo
  12. Mansaka
  13. Tagakaolo
  14. Tasaday
  15. Tboli
  16. Teduray
  17. Ubo

According to the Lumad Development Center Inc., there are 18 groups are in the 19 provinces of the Philippines. Each group are formed from 12 to 13 million people or 18% of the population in the Philippines. These groups are divided into 110 groups of ethno-linguistics and usually lives in forests and shorelines.

READ ALSO: What Are The Following Types Of Volcanoes? (Answer)

Leave a Comment