Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Here Is A List Of All The Animal Classes

CLASSES OF ANIMALS – Animals are classified by scientists in categories to make it easier to study them, they’re classified according to their similarities.

Classes of Animals
Photo taken from Freepik

Animal groups, often posses the same capabilities and features, live in the same habitat or have the same body structures. They are grouped in reasonable ways by scientists because it’s important to study them to expand our knowledge of the animal kingdom.

Are you fond of animals? Check out this animal fun facts.

The animals are primarily separated under two distinct categories: vertebrates (animals with backbones) and invertebrates (animals without backbones).

There are also other classifications, that separates the animals by looking at other aspects.

Here are the most common classes of animals:


Humans are considered mammals. Dogs, cats, horses and a lot of other animals too! They are classified as mammals because of a gland that are commonly present on the bodies called the ‘mammary gland’ which produces milk. Also, mammals have hair covering the body.


The feature that classifies the birds and makes it different from other classes are the feathers. Birds are the only classes that have feathers. They are also born in hard-shelled eggs.


Fishes live under the water and have gills for breathing. They are also vertebrates. Most fishes have scales and fins on their body. Some fish specie are odd looking too!


Reptiles have scaly skin! They are also cold-blooded animals and are birthed on the land. Snakes, lizards, crocodiles, alligators and turtles are all amphibians.


Amphibians give birth in the water and develop to have gills like fish. However, as they grow, they eventually develop lungs and the ability to live on the land.


This class is a huge classification of animals, it is comprise of eleven other classes including: Merostomata,  Pycnogonida, Arachnida, Remipedia, Cephalocarida, Branchiopoda, Maxillopoda, Malacostraca, Chilopoda, Diplopoda, and Insecta.

Animales that have more than four legs with joints are considered arthropods. This means, insects, spiders and crustaceans belong to this class.

These are based on an article from KidZone.

Did you find this article helpfyl? Let us know!

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Classes Of Animals – Learn About Vertebrates And Invertebrates". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.