Philippine News

Social Icons

Date Published:

3:37 PM February 13, 2018

Date Updated:

3:37 PM February 13, 2018

in: Weather
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Latest Update on Typhoon Basyang

TYPHOON BASYANG – Tropical Storm ‘Basyang’ which recently made its landfall in the Caraga region specifically Surigao del Sur weakened.

Several areas in the Philippines now are experiencing a rainy weather due to the presence of Typhoon Basyang in the country. Storm signals are even up to some areas in Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao and many are monitoring the updates about the typhoon.

Based on a report, the tropical storm recently made a landfall in Surigao del Sur.

The bulletin released by the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) stated that Typhoon Basyang was spotted 80 kilometers northeast of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur at 7:00 a.m.

Typhoon Basyang


Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 1 and 2 were up over several areas in Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao according to the report. Cl(–foul word(s) removed–) were suspended in several educational institutions in the areas affected by Typhoon Basyang.

Based on a recent report in Manila Bulletin, following its landfall in Surigao del Sur, the tropical storm has weakened and turned into a tropical depression, the PAGASA issued.

The center of Typhoon Basyang is reportedly located over Cantilan, Surigao del Sur and it will continue to move in the Caraga region as of 10:00 in the morning. It has weakened with a maximum sustained winds of 55 kilometers per hour (kph) with gusts of up to 75 kph. It is still taking the northwest movement.

At 9:15 in the morning, the tropical storm has weakened to a tropical depression according to the report. It might make a landfall in Palawan, Camiguin, Siquijor,  Southern part of Negros Oriental, and Southern part of Cebu.

According to the report, the Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No.1 is up over the following areas:

  • Palawan (including Calamian and Cuyo groups of islands)
  • Aklan
  • Capiz
  • Antique
  • Iloilo
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor, Bohol
  • Cebu
  • Biliran
  • Leyte
  • Southern Leyte
  • Southern section of Samar
  • Southern section of Eastern Samar
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Camiguin
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Northern section of Bukidnon
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Northern section of Lanao del Sur
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Northern section of Zamboanga del Norte
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.