Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Shellfish Ban Up In 7 Province, BFAR Says

The Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) declares shellfish ban in seven provinces because it was allegedly not safe for human consumption.

Shellfish is one of the most common sea foods harvested by the residents living near the coastal areas. It is also the primary source of income of some Filipino people living near the shore line due to its availability nationwide.

On Friday (August 25, 2017), shellfish collected in the coastal areas of Masbate, Negros Oriental, Davao Oriental Samar, Leyte, Iloilo, and Palawan are positive for paralytic shellfish poison.


The aquatic agency also explained that the shellfish found in the following areas are not safe anymore for consumption.

Here are the areas where contaminated shellfish were collected:

  • Irong-Irong, Marqueda Bay and Villareal Bays in Western Samar
  • Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar
  • Carigara Bay in Leyte
  • Balite Bay, Mati in Davao Oriental;
  • Tambobo Bay, Siaton in Negros Oriental
  • Inner Malampaya Sound, Taytay and Puerto Princesa Bay, Puerto Princesa City in Palawan
  • Coastal waters of Gigantes Island, Carles in Iloilo
  • Coastal Waters of Mandaon and Placer in Masbate
  • Coastal waters of Daram Island in Western Samar (Positive for red tide toxin)

Here are the following coastal areas, which are declared by BFAR free from toxic red tide:

  • Cavite, Las Piñas, Parañaque, Navotas, Bulacan and Bataan (Mariveles, Limay, Orion, Pilar, Balanga, Orani, Abucay, and Samal) in Manila Bay
  • Bolinao, Anda, Alaminos, Sual and Wawa, Bani in Pangasinan
  • Masinloc Bay in Zambales
  • Milagros in Masbate
  • Juag Lagoon in Matnog and Sorsogon Bay in Sorsogon
  • Honda Bay in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan
  • Pilar, Panay, President Roxas, Roxas City in Capiz and Sapian Bay (Ivisan and Sapian in Capiz; Mambuquiao and Camansi in Batan, Aklan)
  • Altavas, Batan and New Washington in Batan Bay, Aklan
  • E.B. Magalona, Pontevedra, Pulupandan, Valladolid, Talisay City, Silay City, Bacolod City, Hinigaran and Victorias City in Negros Occidental
  • Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar
  • Cambatutay in Western Samar
  • San Pedro and Cancabato Bays in Tacloban CIty
  • Calubian and Leyte in Leyte
  • Biliran province
  • Dumanquillas Bay in Zamboanga del Sur
  • Tantanang Bay in Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Murcielagos Bay in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Occidental
  • Taguines Lagoon in Benoni Mahinog, Camiguin Island
  • Hinatuan, Bislig and Lianga Bays in Surigao del Sur

What can you say about this? Just feel free to leave your comments and reactions for this article.

You can also read Gerald Anderson Reveals Real Status With Bea Alonzo

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "BFAR Declares Shellfish Ban Up In 7 Provinces, Unsafe For Human Consumption". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.