Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

The Department of Education, through DepEd Secretary Armin Luistro announced that the agency revised the list of schools near the West Valley Fault, removing three schools from the list and adding another school which was not previously included in the list released by DepEd through the recommendation of PHIVOLCS.

West Valley Fault

In a press conference, the three schools that have been removed from the list includes Barangka Elementary School in Marikina, Tibagan National Elementary School in Makati City and Sitio Karamuhe Elementary School in San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan.

The school which was added to the list of schools near the West Valley Fault is the Buli Elementary School in Muntinlupa, it was added after one building with 10 classrooms turned up to be on top of the fault line.


In an earlier report, Director Renato Solidum of the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology advised schools not to use school buildings on top or within the buffer zone of the West Valley Fault.

Phivolcs recently luanched a Valley Fault System Atlas, which has been distributd to local government units. The atlas served as a guide for the 100-kilometer West Valley Fault that transects 42 barangays in Quezon City, Marikina, Pasig, Makati, Taguig, Muntinlupa, and 30 barangays in Bulacan, Laguna and Cavite.

Here’s List of Schools Near the West Valley Fault:

  1. Four buildings in Pedro Diaz High School in Muntinlupa
  2. Building C of Anne Claire Montessori in Taguig
  3. Administration Building in Alabang Elementary School in Muntinlupa
  4. Buli Elementary School



Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "DepEd Revised List of Schools Near the West Valley Fault Line". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.