Octans Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

Octans Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

OCTANS CONSTELLATION – In this topic, we are going to know and learn about the southern constellation Octans, the Octant.

Image from: Star Registratoin

It is a constellation in the southern sky and was named after the octant, a navigational instrument.

Octans was introduced by the French astronomer Nicolas Louis de Lacaille in the 18th century. It is located at the South Celestial Pole and is circumpolar to the South Pole. This means it never sets below the horizon.

Lacaille made it out of dim circumpolar stars and originally called it ‘the reflecting ocant’ or  l’Octans de Reflexion. It was also known as Octans Hadleianus, named after John Hadley, the English mathematician who invented the octant in 1730.

It is the 50th largest constellation and occupies an area of about 291 square degrees. It lies in SQ4, the fourth quadrant of the southern hemisphere.

Octans belongs to the Lacaille family, along with Antlia, Caelum, Circinus, Fornax, Horologium, Mensa, Microscopium, Norma, Pictor, Reticulum, Sculptor, and Telescopium.


Among the stars include:

  • α Octantis | Alpha Octantis
  • β Octantis | Beta Octantis
  • δ Octantis | Delta Octantis
  • HD 142022
  • HD 212301
  • μ2 Octantis | Mu-2 Octantis
  • ν Octantis | Nu Octantis
  • Polaris Australis
  • θ Octantis | Theta Octantis

READ ALSO: Microscopium Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

Leave a Comment