Capricornus Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

Capricornus Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

CAPRICORNUS CONSTELLATION – In this topic, we are going to know and learn about the southern constellation Capricornus , the Goat.


It is a constellation that lies in the southern sky. Its name means “the goat” in Latin and  represents a sea goat, a mythical creature associated with the Babylonian god Enki and later the Greek deity of the wild Pan, as well as the goat Amalthea, who suckled Zeus when he was very young.

It is home to the eclipsing binary system Delta Capricorni, the multiple star systems Beta Capricorni and Alpha Capricorni, and the white giant Nashira, as well as the globular clusters Messier 30 and Palomar 12, and the compact galaxy group HCG 87.

It is the 40th largest constellation and occupies an area of about 414 square degrees. It lies in SQ4, the fourth quadrant of the southern hemisphere.

Capricornus belongs to the Zodiac family, along with Aries, Aquarius, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, Sagittarius, Capricornus, and Pisces.

Five meteor showers are associated with Capricornus: the Alpha Capricornids, the Chi Capricornids, the Sigma Capricornids, the Tau Capricornids, and the Capricorniden-Sagittarids.


Among the stars include:

  • Algedi
  • Alshat
  • Dabih
  • Baten Algiedi
  • Deneb Algedi
  • Dorsum
  • Nashira
  • Psi Capricorni
  • Zeta Capricorni

READ ALSO: Aquarius Constellation | Constellations In The Southern Hemisphere

Leave a Comment