What Connects The Islands Of Samar And Leyte? (Answer)

“Answer To The Question What Connects The Islands Of Samar And Leyte?”

ISLANDS OF SAMAR AND LEYTE – In this topic, we will now know what connects the two big islands of Samar and Leyte.

The two islands constitutes Region VIII or Eastern Visayas. They are also the islands that constitute “Las Islas Filipinas”, the former name of the Philippines.

The region is composed of six provinces:

  • Province |Capital
    • Biliran | Naval
    • Eastern Samar | Borongan
    • Northern Leyte | Tacloban
    • Northern Samar | Catarman
    • Samar | Catbalogan
    • Southern Leyte | Maasin


Image from: Philippine News Agency

Samar and Leyte is connected by a bridge callesd the San Juanico Bridge. Also known as Puente de San Juanico, Tulay ng San Juanico or Marcos Bridge, it stretches from Samar and Leyte accoss the San Juanico Strait.

The reason it was called the Marcos Bridge is because it was former President Ferdinand Marcos’ gift to his wife Imelda and is one of the projects he made during his 1969 campaign.

Now it has become a tourist attraction not because of being Marcos’ project but because of the rising economic activity in the region due to its function and is now served as the part of the identity of the people in Samar and Leyte.

READ ALSO” Statue Of Liberty: Facts About The Famous Landmark

Leave a Comment