PBA to Honor 15 More Cage Great in its 40th year

Philippine Basketball (–foul word(s) removed–)ociation (PBA) is set to honor 15 more cage great to be added in its 25 greatest players awardees when the league celebrate its 40th anniversary next season.

The plan to give honor to 15 outstanding players of the past two decades as the highlight of the 40th season festivity of the (–foul word(s) removed–)ociation was bared by the league officials.

 photo credit: Jerome Ascano

 photo credit: Spin.ph (Jerome Ascano)

It can be remembered that Asia’s first pro basketball league paid tribute to 25 magnificent individuals as part of its silver year celebration. And it is now adding 15 more, which will be picked by a ‘council of elders’ and Commissioner Chito Salud to complete the 40-strong elite list.

Part of the 25 greatest players list are Johnny Abarrientos, Ato Agustin, Bogs Adornado, Francis Arnaiz, Ricky Brown, Allan Caidic, Hector Calma, Philip Cezar, Atoy Co, Jerry Codinera, Kenneth Duremdes, Bernie Fabiosa, Ramon Fernandez, Danny Florencio, Abet Guidaben, Robert Jaworski, Freddie Hubalde, Jojo Lastimosa, Lim Eng Beng, Samboy Lim, Ronnie Magsanoc, Vergel Meneses, Manny Paner, Alvin Patrimonio, and BenjieParas.

This early, players being considered to be part of the pool from where the 15 greatest players will be chosen are the league’s respected stars in the recent years like Mark Caguioa, James Yap, Danny Ildefonso, Asi Taulava, Eric Menk, Dondon Hontiveros, and Willie Miller.

Olsen Racela, Jeffrey Cariaso, Marlou Aquino, and Dennis Espino, who were too young then to be named in the 25 greatest list, are also candidate in the pool.

In the past, the selection committee was composed of the past and current Commissioner’s such as Leo Prieto, Rudy Salud, Rey Marquez, and Jun Bernardino with players who won Most Valuable award are already included in the esteemed group.

Had this selection process remains the same, players who captured MVP plum like Jayjay Helterbrand, Jimmy Alapag, Kelly Williams and Arwind Santos along with Caguioa, Yap, Taulava, lldefonso, Menk, and Miller will be part of the new batch of awardees.

Leave a Comment