Chieffy Caligdong: 2012 The Outstanding Young Men Awardee


Emelio “Chieffy” Caligdong, one of the most popular member of the Philippine Azkals was one of The Outstanding Young Men of 2012 in the Philippines. The awarding ceremony was held at the Malacañang Palace on Wednesday, January 9, 2013.

The Philippine Azkals former team skipper Caligdong officially received the award from the highest ranking official of the Philippines, President Benigno Aquino III. The TOYM award is given yearly to selected Filipinos to recognize their efforts in their respective fields of profession.

Chieffy was praised by the President and was quoted as saying that “We have Chieffy Caligdong, who evokes that feeling of pride in all Filipinos whenever he scores in the football matches of our Philippine Azkals” the President stated.

Here are the other TOYM Awardees for 2012:

  1. International singer
  2. Broadcaster Jiggy Manicad
  3. Congresswoman Emmeline Aglipay
  4. Veterinarian Dr. Waren Baticado
  5. Occupational therapist Abelardo Apollo David
  6. Blogger Ivan Henares

 TOYM 2012 Achievers List