Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Phivolcs Says Series of Earthquakes Hit Davao & Surigao Provinces

EARTHQUAKE ALERT – The state seismology agency Phivolcs reported that a series of earthquakes struck Davao and Surigao provinces.

On Monday morning (February 24, 2020), the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology reported that Davao and Surigao provinces have been struck by four mild tectonic earthquakes.

At 2:35 am, a 3.8 magnitude earthquake hits the town of San Isidro, Surigao del Norte province. The quake’s epicenter was located around 2 kilometers northwest from the town proper. The tremor has a depth of 1 kilometer only.


Around 3:27 am, a magnitude 2.9 tremor struck the province of Surigao del Sur. the tremor’s epicenter has been found at 8 km northeast from the town proper of Bayabas town with a depth of 47 kilometers.

At 4:05 am, a 3.2 magnitude quake has been recorded in the province of Davao Oriental. The epicenter was located at 154 km southeast of Governor Generoso town with a shallow depth of 3 km only.

The agency also recorded a magnitude 3.8 earthquake in the province of Davao Occidental around 5:58 am. The tremor’s epicenter was traced at 148 kilometers southeast of Sarangani with a depth of only 1 km.


The Davao and Surigao provincial disaster risk reduction and management councils recorded no damage of injury as of this writing.

What can you say about this report? Just feel free to leave your comments and reactions to this article.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "EARTHQUAKE ALERT: Series of Earthquakes Hit Davao & Surigao Provinces". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.