Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Provinces Of MIMAROPA | Regions Of The Philippines

PROVINCES OF MIMAROPA – In this topic, we will now discuss the provinces of MIMAROPA or Southwestern Tagalog Region.


MIMAROPA or known as the Southwestern Tagalog Region is one of the provinces in Luzon, one of the main three island groups in the Philippines.

The name MIMAROPA is an acronym of the five provinces )two of them forms Mindoro) that form this region. It was formerly part of the Southern Tagalog or the actual Region VI until it was separated in 2002.

Mimaropa was formerly assigned to Region IV-B but in 2016, Republic Ace No, 10879 was established to call Miimaropa the Southwestern Tagalog Region. Its regional center is Calapan in Oriental Mindoro.


Here are the five provinces:

  • Marinduque (Capital: Boac)
    • It is the island province of the region and topped the Most Peaceful Province in the country in 2013. Its name came from the word malindig or malindug which means stand tall or elegant, respectively.
  • Occidental Mindoro (Capital: Mamburao)
    • Also known as Natundan na Mindoro or Laud nga Mindoro, it is the western half of Mindoro Island.
  • Oriental Mindoro (Capital: Calapan)
    • Also known as Amianan nga Mindoro or Sidlanganong Mindoro, it is the eastern half of the Mindoro Island.
  • Palawan (Capital: Puerto Princessa)
    • Also known as the nation’s Best Island and the Last Frontier, it is the archipelagic province of Mimaropa.
  • Romblon (Capital: Romblon)
    • Romblon is also known as the Marble Capital of the Philippines. It is also an archipelagic province.

READ ALSO: Provinces Of CALABARZON | Regions Of The Philippines

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Provinces Of MIMAROPA | Regions Of The Philippines". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.