Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Provinces Of CALABARZON | Regions Of The Philippines

PROVINCES OF CALABARZON – In this topic, we will now discuss the provinces of CALABARZON or Southern Tagalog Mainland (Region IV-A).


CALABARZON or known as the Southern Tagalog Mainland is one of the provinces in Luzon, one of the main three island groups in the Philippines.

The name CALABARZON is an acronym of the five provinces that form this region. It was formerly part of the Southern Tagalog or the actual Region VI until it was separated in 2002.

Calabarzon was assigned as Region IV-A and its regional center is Calamba, Laguna, the birthplace of Jose Rizal.


Here are the five provinces:

  • Batangas (Capital: Batangas)
    • One of the most popular destinations and is home of the Taal Volcano, the smallest volcano in the Philippines isolated in a lake called Taal Lake. Batangas is also known as the Land of Rolling Hills and Wide Shore Lands.
  • Cavite (Capital: Imus and Trece Martires)
    • Cavite is known as the Historical Capital of the Philippines. Imus is its de jure capital while Trece Martires is the provinces’ seat of government. This is also where the Declaration of Independence was held.
  • Laguna (Capital: Santa Cruz)
    • Laguna is the province where the country’s national hero, Jose Rizal, was born. It is also known for the famous Pagsanjan Falls, Mt. Makiling, and more.
  • Quezon (Capital: Lucena)
    • Also known as Quezon Province, it is named after Manuel L. Quezon, the second president of the Philippines and the first president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines.
  • Rizal (Capital: Pasig and Antipolo)
    • This province is named after Jose Rizal.

READ ALSO: Provinces Of Central Luzon | Regions Of The Philippines

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Provinces Of CALABARZON | Regions Of The Philippines". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.