Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Provinces Of Central Luzon | Regions Of The Philippines

PROVINCES OF CENTRAL LUZON – In this topic, we will now discuss the provinces of Central Luzon (Region III).


Also known as the Rice Granary of the Philippines, it is one of the provinces in Luzon, one of the main three island groups in the Philippines.

It got its nickname due to its huge production and supply of rice and has the largest plain in the country. This region was also assigned as Region III and its regional center is San Fernando in Pampanga.


Here are the eight provinces:

  • Aurora (Capital: Baler)
    • Also known as Probinsia ti Aurora, it is the eastern province of the region. The province was named after Aurora Aragon, the wife of Manuel L. Quezon, the president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines.
  • Bataan (Capital: Balanga)
    • This province occupies the Bataan Peninsula and is known for the Battle of Bataan and the infamous Bataan Death March.
  • Bulacan (Capital: Malolos)
    • A province which is also part of the Metro Luzon Urban Beltway Super Region.
  • Nueva Ecija (Capital: Palayan)
    • Formerly known as Pinagpanaan, Nueva Ecija is also the Rice Bowl of the Philippines as well as the Milk Capital of the Philippines and the Heart of Inland Luzon. It is a landlocked province.
  • Pampanga (Capital: San Fernando)
    • The home of San Fernando, the region’s capital. Its name was given by the Spaniards who call natives living along the pampáng or banks. It is also known as the Culinary Capital and the Tilapia Capital of the Philippines.
  • Tarlac (Capital: Tarlac)
    • This province is known as the Melting Pot of the Philippines.
  • Zambales (Capital: Iba)
    • This province is known as the Chromite Capital of the Philippines. It got its name from the word zambal, a Hispanic term for Sambali, a language spoken by the early Austronesian inhabitants of the place.

READ ALSO: Provinces Of Cagayan Valley | Regions Of The Philippines

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Provinces Of Central Luzon | Regions Of The Philippines". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.