Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

Provinces Of Ilocos Region (Region I)| Regions Of The Philippines

PROVINCES OF ILOCOS REGION – In this topic, we will now discuss the four provinces of Ilocos Region (Region I).


Ilocos Region, also known locally as Rehion/Deppar ti Ilocos, Sagor na Baybay na Luzon in Pangasinan, Rehiyon ng Ilocos in Tagalog, is the northwestern part of Luzon, one of the main island groups in the Philippines.

This region is assigned as Region I and is surrounded by the following:

  • East
    • CAR (Cordillera Administrative Region)
  • North East
    • Cagayan Valley
  • South East
    • Cagayan Valley
  • South
    • Central Luzon
  • West
    • South China Sea

The center of this region is the City of San Fernando in La Union. It has a population of about 5 million people, as of 2015.


Ilocos Region consists of 4 provinces. Here are the following:

  • Ilocos Norte (Capital: Laoag)
    • Amianan nga Ilocos, as it is locally named, it is known as the birthplace of former President Ferdinand E. Marcos. It is also known for being the northern tourist destination and home of Fort Ilocandia and the Municipality of Pagudpud
  • Ilocos Sur (Capital: Vigan)
    • Also locally known as Makin-abagatan nga Ilocos, it is home to the famous Vigan city, its capital, which is located at the River Mestizo. It was founded by a conquistador named Juan de Salcedo in 1572.
  • La Union (Capital: San Fernando)
    • Also known as the Union in English, it’s capital, San Fernando, also serves as the regional center of the Ilocos Region.
  • Pangasinan (Capital: Lingayen)
    • Locally known as Luyag na Pangasinan, it is home to the Pangasinan people and the Sambal people. Ilocanos also settled in the province due to ethnic migration.

READ ALSO – Sino Ang Nagpangalan Sa Bansang Pilipinas? (Sagot)

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...

comment(s) for this post "Provinces Of Ilocos Region | Regions Of The Philippines". Tell us what you think abut this post by leaving your comments below.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.